top of page
  • Writer's picturecheekaan

How It Started...

Updated: Apr 14, 2021

It was a fine morning sometime in the early 2013 that I was invited by my girlfriend (my wife now) to join his father to attend a free investment expo. Before that, I knew that my father-in-law was ‘investing’ as I’ve heard him talking about ‘charting’ and some other investment related topics. I didn’t know what to expect, nor do I know that this day would eventually change my life forever.


To be frank I really don’t know anything about personal finance and investment back then. All I know is that saving is very important. I don’t even put my savings into fixed deposit. At that time, I’ve already been working for almost 2 years and have accumulated some 5-figure savings due to the fact that I was staying with my family, which really helps a lot. I wasn’t so sure about what to expect or learn from this expo. But somehow, I decided to give it a try and attend this expo with an open mind.


I don’t really remember the name or the venue of that expo, all I can remember is the main speaker of the show was Adam Khoo, a self-made millionaire from Singapore, and he is the only person that caught my attention in the expo. I can’t remember everything that Adam Khoo said, but I can remember very clearly the followings which would later makes me dived further into the world of personal finance and investment:


  1. Investment is very simple, every can do it! Just draw 2 lines from a share price chart: 50-days moving average and 200-days moving average. If the 50MA goes above the 200MA, buy! If the 50MA drops below the 200MA, sell! It’s just that simple.

  2. During the 2007-2008 financial crisis, share price of American Express dropped so ridiculously that it was a golden opportunity to buy. Banks are the one suffers from financial crisis, American Express is a credit card company, it got nothing to do with banks. If you buy American Express during the crisis, you already made a lot of money.

  3. Real Estate Investment Trust (REITS).


When I got back home that day, I kept thinking about the 1st point. Is it really so easy to make money from stock investment? Just by looking into lines? I was particularly attracted to REITS as well, because of the simplicity of its business model. Since then, I started to wonder around the finance/investment section of the bookstore and started to read up some of those books. After sometime, I bought the 2 most important book in my investment journey – 股票投资正道 & 30年股票投资心得 by 冷眼. These 2 books are so influential that it formed the basis of my investment philosophy and strategy. I finished these 2 books very quickly and get really fired up to start buying stocks. After some research and reading some annual reports, I bought my 1st stock, SUNREIT in May 2013.

 

在2013年初的某个早晨,我的女友(现在是我的妻子)邀请我和他的父亲一起参加一场免费的投资演讲会。在此之前,我知道我岳父有在“投资”,因为我曾听说他在谈论“图表”和其他一些与投资有关的话题。我不知道这演讲会是什么,也不知道这一天最终将永远改变我的人生。


坦白说,我当时对于理财和投资一无所知。我只知道储蓄非常重要。我甚至没有把我的积蓄存入定期存款。那时后我已经工作了将近2年,也累计了有5位数的储蓄,这跟我与家人同住有着很大的关系。我不太确定从这个演讲会中学到什么。但是不知何故,我决定尝试一下,以开放的心态参加这次演讲会。


我真的不记得那个演讲会的名称或地点,我只记得当天的主要演讲者叫Adam Khoo,是一名白手起家的新加坡百万富翁,也是唯一一位引起我注意的人。我不记得Adam Khoo所说的一切,但我很清楚地记得以下的几个中的,而这几点也使我后来更深入地去了解理财和投资:


  1. 投资是非常简单的,每个人都能够做得到!从股价图表中画出两条线:50天移动平均线和200天移动平均线。如果50MA高于200MA,就买!如果50MA低于200MA,就卖!就那么简单而已!

  2. 在2007-2008年的金融危机期间,美国运通(American Express)的股价下降得如此离谱,以至于这是一次千载难逢的购买机会。银行是遭受金融危机困扰的领域,美国运通是一家信用卡公司,与银行无关。如果您在危机期间购买美国运通,那么您就已经赚了一大笔钱。

  3. 房地产投资信托(REITS)。


那天回家后,我一直在思考第一点。从股票投资中赚钱真的那么容易吗?只是看两条线?由于REITS的业务模式非常简单,所以我也特别感兴趣。从那天起,我开始流连与书店的财务/投资部,并开始阅读其中的一些书籍。一段时间后,我买了我投资旅程中最重要的两本书–冷眼的股票投资正道和30年股票投资心得。这两本书对我影响深远,并成为了我的投资理念和策略的根本。我非常快地读完了这两本书,并且非常有冲劲的想要开始购买股票。经过一番研究并阅读了一些年报后,我于2013年5月购买了我的第一只股票SUNREIT。 Disclaimer: This is a personal opinion recorded for my personal record. Nothing on this Blog constitutes investment advice, performance data or any recommendation that any security, portfolio of securities, investment product, transaction or investment strategy is suitable for any specific person. The author shall not be held accountable for any investment decision made by the reader. Invest at your own risk. 免责声明:这只是个人意见,记录下来供我个人使用。此博客上的任何内容均不构成投资建议,绩效数据或任何建议,任何证券,证券组合,投资产品,交易或投资策略均适合任何特定人士的建议。作者对读者做出的任何投资决定概不负责。投资风险自负

121 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page